top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris Kin

How to Love Yourself

Salutations and welcome to another session of WWBS or What Would Bangs Say? Today's question is from follower - Stephanie Hassett.


"Thank you, Miss Bangs and Hooman for the great advice but that leads me to a question. Knowing we should love ourselves is step one but HOW do we start to love ourselves?" Well, my dear, Stephanie, isn't that the million-dollar question? My human wishes to know the same thing.

Being a cat, it's easy for me to love myself. I'm cute, fluffy, and quick-witted. I have no problem complimenting myself, but my human is another story. (Even with my help).


My human is what you would call "Their own worst enemy". Their self-talk is anything but pretty.


"I'm so repulsive." "I hate my skin." "Everybody looks better than me." I'm no good at anything." "I'll fail at that if I try." Are a few common examples.

You may be asking - "Wait, isn't your human planning on writing books about these issues? Do they have happy endings?"


Yes, my human plans on writing books with characters who have things like they do. Mainly ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder), Depression, Body Dysmorphic Disorder, and Anxiety. And yes, usually their books have positive messages and endings to them.


You see, it may be hard to believe but my human has come a long way since I came into their life. You can't wake up one day and start loving yourself. It doesn't work like that. I do my very best to help human battle their daily negative self-talk with positivity. Here are some examples: Negative: "If I try this I'll only fail." Positive: "So what? If you don't try, you'll definitely fail." Negative: "I hate my skin." Positive: "Name one thing you like about yourself." (Or else)!


Some days it's easier to do this than others but don't give up! The more you do it, the better you'll get at it and slowly but surely, you'll start to feel better about yourself.


I know this wasn't a definitive answer, Stephanie, but I hope it helped a little bit. Thank you so much for your question and we hope you have a wonderful evening and week. Shine bright, starlights! The sort of "prequel" to this post is right here for anyone who hasn't read it yet:

https://kriskin0707.wixsite.com/krisnbangs/post/why-are-we-so-hard-on-ourselves Have a request for a future post? Let us know through comments or email to find out What Would Bangs Say? Contact us here: https://krisnbangs.com/contact

192 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page