top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris Kin

Why Are We So Hard on Ourselves?

Updated: May 16, 2022

Salutations and welcome to another session of WWBS or What Would Bangs Say? Today's question is from follower - Amanda Jayne Ayee. "Why are we so harsh on ourselves?"


Great question, Amanda! This is something many people struggle with. Especially my human. I believe this is not a "One size fits all" question as there are many possible reasons people do this. Let's go over a few.

1) Protection/Low self-esteem

My human has a bad habit of this one. They fear rejection and getting hurt. When it comes to criticism, they like to "beat them to the punch" as you might call it. As an example, if human asks for feedback on something and she sees a flaw first, she'll point it out. That way, it won't hurt or surprise her if the other person sees it. She has this same mentality with bullies as well... It's very unhealthy. But moving on -

2) Comparing ourselves to others


This is another thing my human does often. It's natural for people to compare themselves to others from time to time.


Doing it constantly while using it to determine your worth, however, is unhealthy. An example of an unhealthy comparison - "She's better looking than I am so I must be ugly".


Y'know, people like to compare me to a lot of people too. Even Hitler! (Come on, I'm SO much cuter than him.


3) High Standards/Unrealistic Expectations


This is the final reason some people are so hard on themselves.


An example of this - Sharing something online and expecting it to get one million views overnight. It rarely works like that. I think if my human ever got one million views on anything, they wouldn't believe it's real life.


I hope this helped you better understand why humans can be so harsh on themselves. As a cat, I know better, of course. Thank you so much for the question, Amanda! We appreciated hearing from you. Stay well and shine bright, starlights!


Have a request for a future post? Let us know through comments or email to find out What Would Bangs Say? Contact us here: https://krisnbangs.com/contact

291 views12 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page