top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris Kin

Megacolon in Cats

Updated: Apr 5, 2023

Salutations and welcome back to another session of WWBS or What Would Bangs Say?

It's been awhile, my starlights! Hope you've all been well. My human and I took a small break from blogging to catch up on writing our book. It's not finished yet, but we've made good progress and are eager to get back into blogging.


We have a special treat for you all today. I have a guest with me here -


Meet River - She is from Beauties and Beasts Rescue in Wichita, Kansas. She's been looking for her forever home for awhile now, isn't that right, River?

River: Yes, Miss Bangs, that is correct. In fact, I've been searching for a home for about three years now.


Miss Bangs: Oh dear, since 2020? You are a beautiful cat, why do you suppose it's taking as long as it is?


River: People tend to pass me by once they hear I have a condition called "Megacolon".


Miss Bangs: Oh fishsticks, humans can be finicky sometimes. Would you mind telling us a little bit about Megacolon? Maybe if more humans understand what it is, they'll be more likely to adopt you.


River: I'll give it a try, Miss Bangs! Let's see...

Well, the simplest way to describe it would be that it's a mega-sized, stretched-out, and weak colon. It's a chronic condition so it never goes away. It sounds a lot worse than it is - Don't get me wrong, you NEED to get treatment for it but once you do, it's very manageable.


Miss Bangs: That's it. Now what causes Megacolon?


River: The most common cause of Megacolon is recurrent and untreated constipation. It can also be cause by an injury to the spinal cord or an obstruction but sometimes vets can't give a clear reason for the condition. Miss Bangs: Huh, y'know, me and my human both have constipation at times... Can humans have Megacolon? (Sorry human).


River: Yes, humans can get Megacolon too, but not to worry, it isn't contagious! So I won't be spreading it to any other cats or humans. Miss Bangs: So how do you live with Megacolon? What would you need from your forever human? River: In severe cases, surgery is necessary but usually it's as simple as a diet-change along with laxatives. It's very important that my forever family feeds me my special food - Royal Canin Digestive Support with Fiber Response. I can only have one can a day and have a sensitivity to egg, chicken, and turkey. As long as I have my special food and a little hiding place for myself I will be just fine.

Miss Bangs: Oh dear, I love chicken and turkey the most! It just goes to show every cat has different taste. Well, River, I hope you find your forever family soon and I

know we all appreciated hearing from you and learning about Megacolon.


River: Thank you for having me and I hope we find each other soon too... Miss Bangs: That's it for today, starlights. Today's topic was suggested by follower Diana. Thank you, Diana, this was a wonderful idea for a topic.


We hope everyone has a wonderful rest of the week. Shine bright, starlights! Have a request for a future post? Let us know through comments or email to find out What Would Bangs Say? Contact us here: https://krisnbangs.com/contact Meet/Adopt River: https://beautiesandbeasts.org/adopt/our-cats/river?fbclid=IwAR2k8uhdzx4bufVW5OEXUAbwBns9Kl0ZkU56sYXC61semqzFAmVxVhBBxyg



206 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page