top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris Kin

Fostering Senior Cats (or Dogs)

Salutations and welcome to another session of WWBS or What Would Bangs Say? We have another important topic to discuss today as a follow-up to our last post. We will be discussing the importance of fostering cats and dogs. Particularly seniors. This topic was suggested by follower Diana. Thank you for the topic, Diana, we appreciate it!


Humans who choose to foster are truly something special. Not everyone has the heart for it. Fostering is often seen as sad with the main complaint being - “I don’t want to get attached only to say goodbye so soon."

This is especially true for senior pets and it's an understandable feeling but allow me to share with you how much good fostering can do for a pet of any age.


First and probably the most obvious - It lets the cat (or dog) escape the shelter and live in a nice, warm, and loving home. As someone who had to spend time in three different shelters, let me tell you - they are loud and can be scary. I would have much rather been fostered than stay in a shelter if given the option even if it was temporary.

Fostering a pet also opens up a spot in the shelter for another pet. Space is the biggest limitation in shelters and is the main reason I was moved around as much as I was. Another thing - By fostering, you increase the chances of that pet being adopted into a forever home. By spending so much time with the pet, you'll know what its individual needs are and who would be best suited as their pet parent. You may think a long-term relationship is necessary to bring out the best in both human and animal but take it from my human, it doesn't take long for a cat (or dog) to change a person's life. I've been with my human for three years now and they've grown so much. They are almost a completely different person. I suppose I've changed a lot too thanks to her.

So why foster a senior pet? Well, there's no love quite like theirs. I remember how fast kittens were taken from the shelter when I was at Paws and Prayers Shelter. The kittens haven't lived yet, you see. A senior cat knows how much of a blessing it is when they are fostered or adopted. You can see it in their eyes. Their trust in humans coming back. The relief they feel realizing they are safe. I wasn't a senior when my human adopted me, but I still had these feelings too. Well, starlights, I hope this encouraged you to consider fostering at some point in your lives. My human is considering doing it in their later years. We hope you have Happy Holidays and shine bright, starlights! Have a request for a future post? Let us know through comments or email to find out What Would Bangs Say? Contact us here: https://krisnbangs.com/contact Our last post: https://kriskin0707.wixsite.com/krisnbangs/post/adopting-a-pet-for-the-holidays

134 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page